Nova Courtesy Posting

20220809_194938.jpg
Nove Swimming.jpg
679930534.jpg
FB_IMG_1661829212330.jpg

 

Age: 8 Months
Sex: Female
Coat: Black and White, Semi-Rough Coat

Weight: 30 lbs

Activity Level: Active Puppy

Good with Other Dogs: Unknown

Good with Cats: Unknown

Good with Children: Unknown
This Profile Last Updated: 9-16-2022

Current Status: Available for Adoption

Nova, was born on a working ranch in Lexington, OK.  She was a singleton pup that was taken from her mom at 4 weeks old.  A local teenager took her and kept her in a crate in her apartment until she was 7 months old.  She was then given to a lady that wanted to get Nova out of that situation but quickly realized she didn’t know how to work with a very active border collie puppy and her 12-year-old Pug wasn’t pleased with her living with them.  I was asked if I would take her and find her a good home, since I have an experienced border collie owner. 

 

I have had her fully vetted however, she has not been altered.  She is heartworm negative and on heartworm prevention.   

 

Even though she was a singleton pup and taken from her mom too young, she loves to play with other dogs and any person that will play with her.  She didn’t know any doggie manners when she came to my house, but my two very stable BCs have been tolerant of her and taught her “dog” manners by which she quickly responded to them appropriately.  I haven’t noticed her being overly submissive, but she is no Alpha either.  She loves adults, both men and women, and is very tolerant of my 3-year-old grandson.  I don’t know about cats as I do not have any and I don’t know if she has ever met one.

 

She is crated trained and somewhat house broken.  She will not ask to go outside but if you take her out routinely, she prefers to do business outside.

 

She walks on a leash, will sit, down and wait to be released from her kennel.  I have introduced her to shape training for which she responds well.  She will go to a mat and stay for up to 10 seconds.  We are working on extending her stays.  She is a very active puppy and enjoys swimming, playing fetch (still working on bringing toys back reliably).   She is super driven and would make an excellent sport dog, in my opinion.  She is an exceptional cuddler and loves to be petted and praised so she would do well in an active pet home, as well. 

 

For more information or if you would like to meet her, please contact me at 214-878-8173 or cskinner@wolverinedallas.com .  She currently resides with me and my husband in McKinney, TX.